Blog
Blog
Your Position :  Home > Blog

Tilt and Turn Window Company with Large Factory Capacity: The Ceiling on Your Sash Is Printed in Someone Else's Catalogue

Date: Oct 13 2026 标签arcclick报错:缺少属性 aid 值。

Read this first. Every number in this article that is not ours is a published figure taken from a hardware maker's own catalogue or from a supplier's own public page, and each one is labelled as such. Do not copy any of it into a drawing, a specification or an order. Printed application ranges change without notice, and the catalogue that governs your units is the one your fabricator builds to, not the one quoted here.

Type a phrase like this into a search box and you will get back a wall of factory photographs: aerial shots of roofs, rows of CNC centres, a pallet of extrusions, and a paragraph that says large production capacity. Almost none of those pages will tell you the one thing that actually decides whether your tilt-and-turn window can exist: the largest sash a factory can build is not decided by the factory. It is decided by a fitting catalogue printed by a hardware company, in a different country, that the factory buys from and does not control. We have written elsewhere about what production capacity measures in general. This piece starts where that one cannot go — at the collision between a big factory and the single least repetitive window type in the catalogue.

The two numbers buyers ask for, and why neither one decides your window

A sourcing conversation about tilt-and-turn windows almost always opens with two questions: how big is your plant, and how much can you produce per year. The first question is easy to answer honestly. ALPES publishes a 100,000 m² manufacturing base across two production centres in Foshan and Zhaoqing, Guangdong. That figure is real, checkable, and useful for roughly one thing: it tells you the ceiling on how much equipment and how many people can be put under one roof.

The second question is where the trouble starts. We do not publish an annual output number, and after reading this article you may conclude that no one should. Output is not a property of a building; for this window type it is a property of a configuration list, and the configuration list is not written by the factory.

Here is the shortest version of the argument. A tilt-and-turn sash hangs on one integrated fitting set: a hinge side, a stay, a pivot rest, a corner drive, an espagnolette with a certain number of locking cams, and a gearbox that decides whether the sash tilts first or turns first. Every one of those parts is listed in the hardware maker's catalogue in bands of sash size and sash weight. Change the sash by a few hundred millimetres and you have not changed the size of a window. You have changed its bill of materials.

Four published capacity claims, and the division they cannot survive

Capacity pages are quoted in square metres of window per year. If you divide that annual figure by the plant area printed on the same page, you get something no supplier publishes: how many square metres of window each square metre of roof produces in a year. It is a crude measure, and it is still more informative than either number alone, because it is the only way to compare two claims that were never written to be compared.

What the page publishes Plant area stated Annual output stated Output per m² of roof (our division)
One Foshan supplier page: plant area, headcount, machine count and annual capacity 70,000 m² 300,000 m² per year about 4.3
A Nanjing supplier page: base size badges and annual capacity over 10,000 m² 100,000 m² per year about 10.0
A second supplier page: plant size and market list, no annual figure 30,000 m² not stated cannot be calculated
This site (ALPES): two production centres, no annual figure 100,000 m² not published we would rather print nothing than print a rate you cannot audit

Two companies that both describe themselves as large differ by more than a factor of two in how much window each square metre of their roof produces. Both figures were published by their owners. Neither was audited by anyone, and the difference is not evidence that one of them is lying — it is evidence that "annual capacity" has no agreed definition. It may count fixed lights, it may count sliding doors, it may count the glass area rather than the frame area, and it may count a single shift at full stretch or a realistic year with changeovers, holidays and rework.

The listing that contradicts itself in four lines

The most instructive example is not a factory at all. One publicly visible China trade listing advertises a production capacity of 1,000,000 pieces per year for aluminium tilt-and-turn windows. Four fields further down the very same page, the company profile states a plant area of 2,800 m², 31 employees, one production line, and one QA/QC inspector performing one hundred per cent visual and function inspection of finished products. The same listing also gives the establishment date as 2020 while the Q&A section below it claims two decades of production experience.

Published on the same listing What it implies
1,000,000 pieces per year about 83,333 pieces in an average month (our division by twelve)
One production line one unit every few seconds, continuously, with changeovers
One QA/QC inspector, one hundred per cent inspection at twenty-one working days and eight hours a day, roughly one unit every seven seconds to look at and operate (our arithmetic)
2,800 m² plant, 31 employees roughly ninety square metres of floor per person, including storage, offices and packing

We are not accusing anyone of anything, and we are not naming the listing. The point is structural: nobody checks a capacity number before it is published. A buyer who treats it as a fact has already lost the argument, and a buyer who treats it as a claim to be tested has not. The test is arithmetic you can do yourself, in one minute, from numbers the supplier printed.

Why square metres is the wrong unit — and why it points the wrong way

Here is the part that matters specifically for tilt-and-turn. Capacity quoted in square metres rewards large units. A factory running at a fixed number of square metres per month gets there faster with fewer, bigger windows: fewer cut lengths, fewer corners to assemble, fewer hardware sets, fewer crates. Every incentive in that metric pushes the project towards the largest sash the system allows.

And that is precisely the direction the fitting forbids. In tilt-and-turn, the largest sash is not set by how big the factory is or how long its machining centre is. It is set by a published application range: a maximum sash rebate width, a maximum sash rebate height, a maximum sash area, a maximum sash weight and an aspect ratio. A hundred thousand square metres of roof cannot move any of those five numbers by one millimetre. So the headline metric a factory uses to describe itself rewards exactly the unit the hardware will not permit.

This is also why a large factory is worth less than it sounds for the buyer who wants large tilt and turn windows. The constraint on that request is not a production constraint at all. It is a fitting selection, and it is made in a catalogue the factory did not write.

Six ceilings that no window factory prints

Below is what three major tilt-and-turn fitting platforms publish about their own limits. We have deliberately left the sourcing generic — a German fitting maker's aluminium catalogue, the same maker's heavy-sash catalogue, a second German maker's concealed platform, and an Austrian maker's standard and tilt-before-turn ranges — because the value is in the shape of the table, not in the brand. Every one of these is a ceiling the factory must live inside.

Fitting platform (published) Sash rebate width, mm Sash rebate height, mm Area cap Max sash weight Aspect limit
German maker, aluminium 16 mm groove, turn and tilt-and-turn 290 to 1600 280 to 2400 not stated 100 kg by application diagram
Same maker, heavy-sash hinge side, tilt-and-turn 600 to 1600 1200 to 3000 not stated 200 kg by application diagram
Second German maker, concealed tilt-and-turn not stated not stated 3 m² 150 kg (100 kg without two add-on components) not stated
Second German maker, heavy-sash platform 500 to 1600 1000 to 3000 not stated 200 kg 1.5 to 1
Second German maker, entry-level platform 380 to 1100 230 to 2800 3 m² 80 kg 2 to 1
Austrian maker, standard tilt-and-turn range 320 to 1650 360 to 2600 3 m² 120 kg (100 kg on some pivot-post variants) 1.5 to 1
Austrian maker, concealed tilt-before-turn 370 to 1630 470 to 2250 not stated 130 kg not stated
Austrian maker, face-fix tilt-before-turn (as standard) 220 to 1630 470 to 2250 not stated 80 kg as standard, with 120 kg stated elsewhere on the same page not stated

Look at the shape of that table rather than the numbers. The width ceiling clusters around 1600 mm in three of them and 1630–1650 mm in three others. The weight ceiling spans 80 kg to 200 kg — a factor of two and a half across platforms that all call themselves tilt-and-turn fittings. Two of them cap the area at 3 m² even where the width and height ranges would allow more. That cap is the first hint of the arithmetic below.

The arithmetic that voids the maximum rectangle

A sash weight rating is not a rating for glass. It is a rating for the whole moving sash: aluminium, insulating glass, hardware, gaskets and the edge seal. So the fastest way to test a published maximum rectangle is deliberately unfair: weigh the glass only, add nothing else, and compare it to the ceiling. If glass alone is over, the rectangle is not buildable, whatever size factory is standing behind it.

We use the glass constant that the fitting catalogues publish themselves (see the next section): 2.5 kg per square metre for every millimetre of glass thickness. A common double-glazed build of 6-12-6 carries 12 mm of glass in total, which is 30 kg per square metre. All rows below are our own arithmetic on published figures.

Platform Published maximum rectangle Area Glass only, at 30 kg/m² Published sash ceiling Left for frame, hardware and edge
Aluminium 16 mm groove, tilt-and-turn 1600 by 2400 mm 3.84 m² 115.2 kg 100 kg minus 15.2 kg — the glass alone is already over
Austrian standard range 1650 by 2600 mm 4.29 m² 128.7 kg 120 kg, and a 3 m² area cap on the same page minus 8.7 kg, and the rectangle is 43 per cent over the area cap
Austrian concealed tilt-before-turn 1630 by 2250 mm 3.67 m² 110.0 kg 130 kg 20.0 kg for the entire sash that is not glass
German entry-level platform 3 m² area cap 3.00 m² 90.0 kg 80 kg minus 10.0 kg — glass alone exceeds it
German concealed tilt-and-turn 3 m² area cap 3.00 m² 90.0 kg 150 kg with the two add-on components 60.0 kg
German heavy-sash platform 1600 by 3000 mm 4.80 m² 144.0 kg 200 kg 56.0 kg
German heavy-sash hinge side, tilt-and-turn 1600 by 3000 mm 4.80 m² 144.0 kg 200 kg 56.0 kg

Three of those ceilings are exceeded by the glass before a single gramme of aluminium is added. The correct reading is not that the catalogues are wrong — they are right, and they say so. One platform states plainly that its diagrams were calculated without additional loads and that you must take only the area to the left of the glass-weight curve. Another notes that a turn limiter should be used from a sash rebate width of 1200 mm or a sash weight of 150 kg. The application range is a region on a graph, not a pair of numbers you may multiply. The two published maxima are not a rectangle you can order.

The constant that three catalogues publish and nobody quotes

Every weight conversation about windows eventually needs a glass weight, and almost every article on the internet produces one from nowhere. The fitting catalogues do not. A German aluminium catalogue prints it as a footnote beside its application diagram: one millimetre of glass thickness per square metre equals 2.5 kg. An Austrian maker prints the same constant on its glass-weight axis, with a table running from 12 mm of glass at 30 kg/m² up to 24 mm at 60 kg/m². Two independent publishers, one number. That is the most reliable figure in this article, and it is the only one you need to do your own arithmetic.

Insulating glass build Total glass thickness Glass weight (kg/m²) Max sash rebate area under a 100 kg ceiling Share of the 3.84 m² maximum rectangle
6-12-6 12 mm 30 3.33 m² about seven-eighths
8-16-8 16 mm 40 2.50 m² about two-thirds
6-12-6-12-6 18 mm 45 2.22 m² under three-fifths
8-16-8-16-8 24 mm 60 1.67 m² under one half

There is a detail in one of those catalogues that is worth more than the table. It states that all sash sizes within the application range, at an aspect ratio of 1.5 to 1 or less, are permissible at a glass weight below 30 kg/m². Thirty kilograms per square metre is exactly 12 mm of glass. In other words, 6-12-6 is the last glass build that nobody has to check, and every step past it moves you off the published diagram and into a calculation that has to be done per sash. A triple-glazed unit is not a glass upgrade. It is a different window with a different maximum size.

What the remainder has to pay for

Take the row that left twenty kilograms and give it a shape. A sash of 1630 by 2250 mm has a perimeter of 7.76 m. Twenty kilograms spread over that perimeter is about 2.6 kg per metre — for the aluminium section, the corner joints, the gaskets, the espagnolette, the cams, the stays, the hinges and the handle, combined. Do the same for the heavy platform at 56 kg over 9.20 m and you get about 6.1 kg per metre.

We are not going to tell you what an aluminium tilt-and-turn sash section weighs per metre, because that depends on the system, the wall thickness and the reinforcement, and we do not publish it. That is the point. Ask your supplier for the sash profile weight in kilograms per metre, then let the last column do the arguing. A supplier who can answer has already done the calculation. A supplier who answers with the plant area has not.

One size band, one part number

Now we can get to what "large capacity" actually means for this window type. Fitting catalogues do not sell one product per platform. They sell a matrix, and the matrix is indexed by sash size.

  • The espagnolette is listed by sash rebate height band. One published parts list runs through seven bands from 310–450 mm up to 2001–2400 mm, each with its own length and part number.
  • The number of locking cams steps with it. The same list shows one cam at the 621–800 band, one at 801–1200, two at 1201–1600, two at 1601–2000 and four at 2001–2400.
  • The tilt stay is listed by sash rebate width band — 400–600, 601–800, 801–1000, 1001–1200, 1201–1600 — with different sizes and, above 1000 mm, a connectable variant and a different part number.
  • An additional scissor stay becomes required from a sash rebate width of 1400 mm on one platform, which is inside — not outside — the published maximum width.
  • A sash lifter becomes standard on another platform from a sash height of 651 mm.
  • The fixing schedule is a function of weight. One catalogue tabulates the required pull-out force on the stay bearing against sash weight: 1650 N at 60 kg, 1900 N at 70 kg, 2200 N at 80 kg, 2450 N at 90 kg and 2710 N at 100 kg. Change the glass, and the screw specification changes with it.

So the phrase "the same window, one size up" is, in a tilt-and-turn catalogue, false. It is a different espagnolette, possibly a different cam count, possibly a different tilt stay, possibly an extra scissor stay, and possibly a different screw schedule. None of that is visible in a photograph of a factory.

Count the configurations, not the windows

If the unit of work is not the window and not the square metre, what is it? It is the distinct hardware configuration — a combination for which one bill of materials, one machining programme and one fitting set apply. Below is our own worked example, with the assumptions stated, using a plausible apartment package of sixty tilt-and-turn units.

Variables left free Distinct configurations Units in the package Average repeats of each configuration What the factory actually sees
8 sash sizes, 2 handings, 2 glass builds, 2 opening sequences 64 60 fewer than one sixty first articles
8 sash sizes, 2 handings, 1 glass build, 1 sequence 16 60 about 3.8 a repeatable batch
4 sash sizes, 2 handings, 1 glass build, 1 sequence 8 60 about 7.5 what a capacity number assumes

That table is the whole argument. Capacity claims assume the third row. Tilt-and-turn projects arrive as the first row. Nothing dishonest has happened — the architect drew eight sizes because there are eight kinds of room, the handing follows the plan, and the glass build changed for the two elevations that needed acoustic performance. Every one of those is a good decision. Together they turned a sixty-window order into sixty first articles, and no factory on earth has a capacity number for that.

This is why the first useful thing a buyer can do is not ask for a bigger number but reduce the configuration count before the enquiry goes out: one glass build per elevation rather than per room, one opening sequence across the project unless a school or a hospital spec says otherwise, and a handing schedule that is drawn rather than assumed. When you are buying tilt and turn aluminum windows wholesale, repetition is the only thing a factory can convert into speed, and repetition is a thing you own.

Part of your factory's capacity was designed in someone else's catalogue

There is a sentence in one fitting brochure that no window article ever quotes. Listing the advantages of a heavy-sash platform, the hardware maker writes: only one shear size; optimum warehousing; only one hinge for all frame materials; no routings on the frame required; no need to fix the hinge in the sash overlap with screws. A second brochure, for a concealed platform, promises efficient production without special drilling, time-consuming routings or special tools, and quick installation due to fewer components. A third notes that on certain window types the shear is always positioned vertically, and calls the resulting low warehousing costs an advantage for window manufacturers.

Those are throughput claims, sold by a component supplier to a fabricator. Which means a meaningful share of the capacity you are comparing between two window factories was purchased, not built. Two factories of identical size can have very different tilt-and-turn throughput because one bought a platform with one shear size and no frame routing, and the other bought a platform with five variants and a routing operation. Neither will mention it, because both call it "German hardware".

The question that surfaces this is short: which fitting platform, which application range, and how many distinct part numbers does my project touch? A factory that can answer has counted. A factory that cannot is quoting you a roof.

Two catalogues, two thresholds for the same component

Component thresholds are where the catalogues stop agreeing, and it is worth seeing the disagreements side by side rather than pretending there is one industry rule.

Component One maker says Another maker says What to do
Turn limiter or turn restrictor use one from a sash rebate width of 1200 mm or a sash weight of 150 kg (recommended) compulsory from a sash weight of 160 kg ask which catalogue your units are built to, and whether the part is included or optional
Central hinge or central bearing compulsory on turn-only sashes from a sash rebate height of 2400 mm and/or a sash weight of 200 kg not stated in the ranges we reviewed if your sash is room height, ask whether a central bearing is in the set or an extra line
Additional scissor stay required from a sash rebate width of 1400 mm a different width threshold appears on another platform a wide sash costs an extra component; confirm it is in the quoted set
Sash lifter standard from a sash height of 651 mm on one platform supplied fixed to the gear, no additional parts, on another do not assume it is included; it is a line item in one catalogue and a feature in another

We are not going to reconcile those numbers, and neither should your supplier. Different platforms have different load paths and different test evidence. The useful action is to make the factory name the platform and the threshold on your own sash sizes, in writing, before the order is frozen.

Swapping the fitting is not a capacity decision

When a project is late, the tempting move is to substitute a fitting: same function, faster delivery, lower cost. Two catalogues close that door themselves. One states that all fittings must be selected from the original range and that no liability is accepted where third-party or non-approved system components are used. Another states that its warranty covers only original components, and excludes damage arising from inadequate tendering procedures or failure to adhere to the installation instructions and application drawings.

A third gives a reason that has nothing to do with brand loyalty. It recommends stainless steel or zinc-flake-coated fenestration screws for aluminium profiles with a 16 mm hardware groove, and warns that other screws can lead to contact corrosion. Then it tabulates the pull-out force the fixing must achieve against sash weight. The screw is part of the load path, and the load path was calculated for a sash weight. A substitution that changes the fitting, the cam count or the fastener changes the calculation, and the calculation is the thing that makes the application range mean anything.

For a buyer this has a practical consequence. If your supplier proposes a fitting change after the order is frozen, ask one question: does the substitution keep every sash inside the published application range of the new platform, and who signs for it? If the answer is a shrug, the saving is being paid for somewhere else.

What a large factory actually buys you, and what it does not

What scale genuinely helps Why scale is the reason The question that turns it into something usable
One coating batch across the project a large plant runs long batches and can hold a colour run open will every unit in my order come from one batch, and is the batch number recorded per unit
Stocking the part-number spread seven espagnolette lengths, five tilt-stay sizes and extra scissor stays are inventory, not a purchase order which part numbers does my project touch, and are they held in stock or ordered per project
A first article and a mock-up without losing your slot spare line capacity absorbs a paid sample and its rework can I have one unit built, cut open and operated before the batch is released
Per-unit archiving a large plant already runs job travellers and batch records will I get a per-unit record with die number, batch, colour code, glass build and the fitting set used
Surge capacity when a phase is pulled forward a second site can take a block of units if my order is split across two sites, are the two halves still one colour batch and one platform
What it does not buy the size and weight ceilings are printed in a fitting catalogue not one millimetre more sash, not one kilogramme more rating

Two production centres: a capacity answer that raises a consistency question

We operate two production centres, in Foshan and Zhaoqing, and we say so because it is the honest answer to a surge question. It is also the honest answer to a question almost nobody asks: which site will my units come from?

For tilt-and-turn this matters more than for most products, for three reasons. First, colour: if a project is split, the two halves need to be one coating batch, or the difference will be visible on a facade even when both halves are inside tolerance. Second, hardware: two sites need to be running the same fitting platform and the same application range, or one site's "maximum sash" will not be the other's. Third, machining: the espagnolette length band, the cam count and the tilt-stay size are programmed per sash, and a programme is a thing that can differ by a revision between two plants.

None of this is a reason to avoid a two-site factory. It is a reason to put the site, the batch and the platform in writing at the same moment you freeze the sizes. A large factory's real advantage is that it can say yes to that question in one sentence.

The fitting has its own clock

Fabrication capacity is measured in what a plant can do to aluminium. The fitting is a purchased assembly that arrives in boxes with its own part numbers and its own lead time. A factory that can machine, assemble and glaze three hundred sashes a week still cannot build a single one before the right espagnolette length, the right tilt stay and the right cam count are on the shelf.

This is where configuration discipline pays twice. Eight configurations need eight part-number sets to be ordered, received, kitted and kept apart. Three configurations need three. The buyer who reduces the configuration count shortens the critical path without anyone working faster. It is the only schedule lever on this window type that does not cost money.

What this site publishes, and what it does not

It would be easy to end with a table of our own numbers, so here is one that includes the gaps. The right-hand column is the part worth reading.

Item What we publish Why the gap exists, or what the number really measures
Manufacturing base 100,000 m² across two centres in Foshan and Zhaoqing roof and equipment ceiling, not a throughput statement
Annual output not published there is no agreed unit; a rate you cannot audit is not a rate
AW90 tilt-and-turn thermal figure K = 1.3 a system value, not a whole-window value and not an NFRC rating
AW90 geometry frame wall width 90 mm, glass sash thickness 90 mm, mullion 72/4 mm, profile 1.8 mm 6060-T66 frame wall width is depth into the wall; sash thickness is a stack-up, not a glass rebate
AW90 test figures 240 h salt spray, 5,000 N shear, Winkhaus hardware with optional C-slot ROTO coating, composite bond and hardware brand; none of them is an air, water or wind rating, and none transfers to another series
Maximum tilt-and-turn sash size not published it is a function of the fitting platform and the glass build; ask for it against your own sash
Tilt-and-turn sash weight rating not published same reason; a number without the glass build it was calculated on is not a number
Glass thickness on the tilt-and-turn pages not published our sliding door pages publish 24A and 27A spacer widths; a spacer width is not a glass thickness
The 200, 220 and 400 kg figures on this site published for sliding door pulleys and drive capacity they are per sash, they belong to sliding doors, and two of them are not even the same measurement; do not rank them in one column
AW113 series page a placeholder, not a specification we would rather say that than let you build a schedule on it
Swing, folding, entry, tilt-and-slide and sunroom categories pages exist, product listings are empty we would rather leave a page empty than fill it with something we do not build

Twelve lines to send before you ask anyone for a capacity number

Copy this into your enquiry. It takes longer to fill in than "please quote 120 tilt-and-turn windows", and it will shorten everything that happens afterwards.

Line What to send What a usable answer looks like What happens if you leave it blank
1 every sash rebate width and height in millimetres a size schedule with a count against each line the quote is built on a nominal call-out, not a manufactured size
2 the glass build per elevation, with total glass thickness a build-up and the resulting kilograms per square metre the sash weight rating has no meaning, and neither does the maximum size
3 handing per unit, and the convention you are using a marked-up plan with a stated viewing side the error is found at unpacking, and handed hardware is not returnable
4 opening sequence: turn-first or tilt-first one answer per unit, or one answer for the project with exceptions listed different gearbox, different part number, and no way to change it on site
5 the fitting platform named, with its published application range platform name plus a statement that every sash in the schedule sits inside the range you cannot check the one thing that decides whether the window works
6 the sash weight as built, per configuration a number in kilograms with the glass build it was calculated on the rating quoted to you may belong to a lighter glass build
7 sash profile weight in kilograms per metre a figure from the extrusion drawing, not from a brochure you cannot reproduce the weight arithmetic in this article for your own sash
8 which component thresholds your sizes cross extra scissor stay, turn restrictor, central bearing, sash lifter, listed and priced they appear later as variations, at the worst possible moment
9 colour, and whether the whole order is one batch a single batch commitment with a batch number recorded per unit the fifth-year replacement sash is a slightly different colour
10 which production site makes the units one site named, or two with the batch and platform reconciled in writing two halves of one facade, two batches of colour
11 the freeze date for changes, not just the delivery date a date, and a written statement of what a change after that date costs the schedule is managed by optimism instead of by contract
12 one paid sample unit, to be cut open and operated agreed before the batch is released, with the section available for inspection the first time anyone operates your window is on your site

Ten answers that sound reasonable and carry no information

The answer Why it carries nothing Ask instead
We have a 100,000 square metre factory a roof is not a rate, and it says nothing about the fitting ceiling which platform, and is my largest sash inside its published range
Our annual capacity is X square metres no agreed definition; may count glass, frames, fixed lights or a single ideal shift how many distinct hardware configurations can you release in a month
German hardware the brand does not tell you the load class or the application range name the platform and the maximum sash weight it is rated for
Up to 200 kg it is a ceiling on one platform, not on your sash, and not with your glass what is the weight of my sash as built, at my glass build
Any size is possible, it is custom the fitting has a published range; "custom" cannot extend it show me the application diagram with my sash marked on it
Tested to European standards a standard without a number, a class and a tested configuration is an adjective which standard, which class, and was the specimen my configuration
We can deliver in thirty days the clock starts when the fitting arrives, not when you sign are my part numbers in stock, and what is the freeze date
Standard configuration there is no standard tilt-and-turn; there is a matrix list the configuration you have assumed, line by line
We use original fittings must be true anyway; what matters is whether the substitution is documented if a part is unavailable, what happens, and who signs for the alternative
Spare parts are always available without the platform name and part numbers it cannot be fulfilled send the fitting part numbers with the order, and a spare-parts list priced with it

Six questions we are asked most often

Does a bigger factory mean a bigger maximum sash?

No. The maximum sash is set by the fitting platform's published application range and by the glass build your project needs. Adding roof area does not move either. If a supplier's answer to "how big can you go" starts with the size of the plant, the answer has not been given yet.

Why will nobody quote a maximum sash size without asking about glass?

Because the size ceiling and the weight ceiling are the same graph. One millimetre of glass thickness is 2.5 kg per square metre, so a triple-glazed build at 18 mm of glass weighs 45 kg/m², and a sash that was comfortably inside the range at 30 kg/m² can fall outside it at 45 kg/m² without a dimension changing. A maximum size quoted without a glass build is a guess.

Is it a problem that your own pages do not publish an annual output figure?

We do not think so, and we would rather say it than print a rate you cannot audit. What we can do is name the configuration count your schedule creates, name the platform, and tell you which of your sashes sit near a threshold. That is a better predictor of your delivery date than a monthly tonnage.

We are comparing a distant factory with a local one. Does capacity settle it?

No, because they are not the same purchase. Searching for tilt and turn windows near me buys you a same-week site visit, a local warranty counterparty and someone who can measure. Buying from a factory buys you a configuration record, one coating batch and a re-order path for a single sash years later. A large factory cannot sell you proximity, and a local shop cannot sell you a batch record. Decide which of those your project actually needs, then compare.

What should we freeze first: size, glass or handing?

Glass, then size, then handing. Glass sets the weight budget, size selects the part numbers, and handing is the one that cannot be corrected after machining. If you must leave one open, leave size open — a change of a few millimetres may keep you in the same band. A change of handing does not.

Can we change the fitting later if something is delayed?

You can, but read the catalogues first. At least two major fitting makers state that their liability or warranty applies only to original components from their own range, and one of them excludes damage arising from inadequate tendering or from departing from the application drawings. A substitution is a engineering decision with a signatory, not a purchasing shortcut.

The short version

  • A tilt-and-turn window's largest possible sash is printed in a fitting catalogue, not decided by a factory.
  • Capacity quoted in square metres rewards big units, and big units are exactly what the weight ceiling forbids.
  • Two pages that both say "large" differ by more than a factor of two in output per square metre of roof.
  • One public listing advertises a million pieces a year with one production line and one inspector doing full inspection.
  • At 30 kg/m² of glass, three of the seven published maximum rectangles are over their own weight ceiling using glass alone.
  • One millimetre of glass is 2.5 kg per square metre, and two independent fitting catalogues print that constant.
  • 6-12-6 is the last glass build that nobody has to check; past it, every sash is a calculation.
  • The espagnolette is listed in seven height bands, the tilt stay in width bands, and the cam count runs from one to four.
  • Eight sizes, two handings, two glass builds and two sequences turn sixty windows into sixty first articles.
  • A share of the capacity you are comparing was purchased from a hardware maker, not built by the factory.
  • Two catalogues set the threshold for the same component at 150 kg and at 160 kg; do not reconcile them, ask which one applies.
  • The only schedule lever that costs nothing is reducing the configuration count before the enquiry goes out.

One last caution. Do not take any number from this page into a drawing, a specification or an order — including ours. Fitting application ranges are revised, and the range that governs your units is the one your fabricator builds to. What is worth carrying away is not a figure but a habit: ask which platform, which application range, and which of your sashes sits closest to a threshold. A supplier who can answer those three has already counted, and a supplier who answers with the size of the roof has not.

Our tilt-and-turn range is documented on the tilt and turn pages, and completed work is listed under Projects. Bring a size schedule and a glass build, and we will tell you which thresholds your sashes cross.

Please fill in your information
We will contact you as soon as possible
*
*
*
*
Back to top